Entry #12: Moving On

The Newest Pledge is in “the can.” There is nothing else I can do to it. The picture has been domestically acquired by Lionsgate, the leading distributor of independent films on the globe, and will be released globally later this year. For someone my age that’s an incredible accomplishment. With a budget that was one one hundredth the size of a respectable Hollywood budget, it’s even more impressive of an accomplishment. Without sounding like a jerk, at 25 I’ve now accomplished more than most people who aspire to be writer/directors accomplish.

This is only the beginning.

I officially finished my work for The Newest Pledge on Tuesday when I approved of some graphics, ok’d the credits, and gave my final notes on the sound mix. The next day I did work on three separate films.

1887 Pictures, the production company that Bob Burton, the producer of The Newest Pledge, and I founded has a lot in store for the future. I’m simultaneously working on four different features trying to balance them according to inspiration, urgency, and about a dozen intangibles that I can’t control.

One film is an anthology of shorts that takes place on Long Island. I’ve been filming this project since July 2011 and should be done shooting it in June of this year. I’ll let you know more about this when stuff becomes more organized. It’s a guerrilla production so we’ll see how it turns out. All signs point to it being a lot of fun to watch, though.

Another feature I’m writing is a project that I plan on using as my true follow up to The Newest Pledge (as opposed to the anthology which I’d compare more to a musical artist demo-ing before their next studio album), a relationship comedy about people in my age group.

A separate feature that I’m writing with an old high school friend  is a project that I hope to begin shooting early next year. This project will likely go into production before my relationship comedy.

The fourth project will be very successful if executed properly, and will hopefully go into production late summer/early fall. I’m not really sure how much I can or should say about this project so I’ll be quiet for now, but I’m really looking forward to it.

On top of those projects I’ve been producing a reality television show based out of Corpus Christi, Texas, developing a documentary in San Antonio, Texas, and directing a documentary that has been ongoing for over a year now. The people involved in these projects are all unique and a lot of fun to work with.

The documentary I’m directing entitled, The Gothic Killer Clown of Rock and Roll, will be a lot of fun to watch. It follows the life of Fifi Larue, an artist I met while working on my Sammy Hagar video, and his pursuit of fame through rock music, reality television, acting, magic, and Spanish television.

The Newest Pledge has opened a lot of doors for me and I will make the best of every one. I am blessed with a hustle that only a 25 year old, single, childless, person can have. This is an exciting time for me. As I wait for my first feature film to be released, I’m filled with energy and excitement about the future. Patience and positivity have gotten me here. That and a lot of hard work and loyalty to those I care about.

Now it’s time to work harder.

Jason Michael Brescia

March 16, 2012 1:24 A.M EST

About jasonmichaelbrescia

Filmmaker. Writer, director. Comedy.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

